top of page
About Health Lottery West Midlands  

Health Lottery West Midlands is licensed by the Gambling Commission to promote its own lottery, which it does through The Heath Lottery. Its objective is to ensure that the individual communities receive their good causes money to enable them to address health related issues within their local area.
The Health Lottery Scheme manages 12 individual lotteries that operate in rotation and each represents a different geographical region of Great Britain. They raise money for health-related good causes within each of their individual community areas. Each of the regional lotteries are trading names which are licenced by one of 6 society lottery licences. In the case of West Midlands, it is EWM Health CIC.


The grant-making process is determined by local need and requirement and, through the 12 Regional Lotteries, every region in Great Britain will benefit. These lotteries are operated under a single brand, The Health Lottery, but each ticket will have one of the society licence names on that reflect which area of Great Britain that particular months draw is raising funds for. A list of which regional area within the society the funds are being raised for is listed on the website or on the licence in retailers. Information on this can also be obtained from The Health Lottery website, via its helpline 0844 375 5555 and from Health Lottery retailers where you can buy tickets. Calls to The Health Lottery will be charged at 5p per minute from a BT landline. Charges from other service providers will vary

The Regional Lotteries have a very specific focus on providing funding where there are health inequalities which are currently not being met by other financial sources. Alongside our partner registered charity, People's Health Trust, we have a very robust process in place which ensures the right organisations get the money.

To ensure that grants do help reduce health inequalities the activities are regulated by the Charity Commission (and by the Office of the Scottish Charity Regulator) and by the Office of the Regulator of Community Interest Companies. Grants are sometimes made in instalments to ensure all money is being used for the intended purpose. People's Health Trust has follow-up processes to monitor the progress of projects given grants and evaluate the results.

Health Lottery Areas


Cambridgeshire, Peterborough, Suffolk, Essex, Southend on Sea, Thurrock, Norfolk


East Midlands

Northants, Leicestershire, Leicester, Rutland, Derbyshire, Derby, Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire and Nottingham

London West

Wokingham, West Berkshire, Reading, Windsor and Maidenhead, Slough, Bracknell Forest, London Boroughs of Kensington and Chelsea, Hammersmith and Fulham, Ealing, Hounslow, Hillingdon, Wandsworth, Richmond upon Thames, Kingston upon Thames, Merton, Sutton, Croydon, Camden, Barnet, City of Westminster, Brent, Harrow


London East

London Boroughs of Havering, Barking and Dagenham, Redbridge, Newham, Waltham Forest, Islington, Haringey, Enfield, City of London, Tower Hamlets, Hackney, Lambeth, Southwark, Bromley, Lewisham, Greenwich, Bexley, Kent and Medway


North East & Cumbria

Cumbria and Northumberland, County Durham, Stockton on Tees, Redcar, Cleveland, Middlesbrough, Darlington, Hartlepool, Newcastle upon Tyne, North and South Tyneside, Gateshead, Sunderland

North West

St Helens, Knowsley, Liverpool, Sefton Wirral, Manchester, Stockport, Trafford, Salford, Lancashire, Blackpool, Blackburn with Darwen, Cheshire East, West, Warrington, Chester, Halton, Tameside, Wigan, Bolton, Bury, Rochdale, Oldham


Dumfries and Galloway, North,East and South Ayrshire, Scottish Borders, North and South Lanarkshire, Perth and Kinross, City of Dundee, Angus, Stirling, Fife, Clackmannanshire, Argyll and Bute, Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire, Highland, Moray, Nah-Eileanan Siar (Western Isles) Shetland and Orkney Islands, Glasgow, Renfrewshire, East and West Dunbartonshire, East Renfrewshire, Inverclyde, Edinburgh, West Lothian, East Lothian, Falkirk, Midlothian

South East

Hertfordshire, Central Bedfordshire, Luton, Bedford, Hampshire, Southampton, Portsmouth, Isle of Wight, Surrey, East and West Sussex, Brighton and Hove

South West

Devon, Torbay, Somerset, Dorset, North Somerset, Bath and North East Somerset, Bournemouth, Poole, Cornwall, Plymouth, Isles of Scilly, Wiltshire, Bristol, South Gloucestershire, Gloucestershire and Swindon



Rhondda Cynon Taf, Cardiff, Caerphilly, Newport, Torfaen, Monmouthshire, Blaenau Gwent, Merthyr Tydfil, Vale of Glamorgan, Powys,Flintshire, Wrexham, Gwynedd, Conwy, Denbighshire, Anglesey, Ceredigion, Swansea, Carmarthenshire, Neath Port Talbot, Pembrokeshire, Bridgend


West Midlands

Solihull and Birmingham, Sandwell, Dudley, Walsall, Woverhampton, Staffordshire, Shropshire, Stoke-on-Trent, Telford and Wrekin, Coventry, Warwickshire, Herefordshire, Worcestershire


Yorkshire & Humber

Wakefield, Leeds, Kirklees, Calderdale, Bradford, North Yorkshire and York, Sheffield, Rotherham, Barnsley, Doncaster, East Riding, Hull, North and North East Lincolnshire


West Midlands

EWM Health CIC

Tackling health inequalities

bottom of page